Surviving.

 

Well, today was the last day for teaching English in Spain. This trip at least…

 

It’s such an accomplishing feeling, to find something I would do for free, but it helps that I paid for 2 travels in 2 months by sharing my native language. I’m so thankful for the opportunity to take from those students some of their culture, and to share mine with them. It was an amazing experience that unexpectedly has enhanced this study abroad experience.

 

My mom always told me to teach, but until the 1st day I walked into La Fabrica De las idiomas I had no intention of doing it. Making learning English fun for them was so accomplishing, when you see them learning and communicating so much better in just 2 months. I feel like I was just their age yesterday (12-16) that I can still relate, especially because I’m in classes during the day myself I know how it feels.

 

-María, Paul, Lucia, Inez, Ana, David

 

I found ideas of games to play online, but the majority of games I took from my oral expression class. The teacher whose style I completely admired because he made us want to learn and want to speak. By far, Pablo, the most engaging teacher I had in La Casa de Las Lenguas.

 

-playing telephone: Sally sells seashells by the sea shore; How much wood would a wood chuck chuck?; Break a leg; sometimes I tell time; what happens in vegas; She sweats in her sweatshirt..

 

-christmas madlibs: parts of speech; nouns, adverbs, verbs, adjectives.

 

-music fill in the blanks- pop music & recognizing dialects and pronunciation,

 

– Describe pictures to the others to explain an image without showing them

 

-word unscrambles, how many words can you make from one word?

 

-Explaining a word without using synonyms: ie “Joke” without saying “laugh” “funny” “prank” “humor”

Screen shot 2012-12-19 at 6.27.47 PM Screen shot 2012-12-19 at 6.27.59 PM Screen shot 2012-12-19 at 6.31.22 PM Screen shot 2012-12-19 at 6.33.50 PM Screen shot 2012-12-19 at 6.34.08 PM

 

Leave a Reply

